Advice pleeze (1)? Photo-etched parts... (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

36feet10inches

Staff Sergeant
Jan 25, 2009
Newark, UK
I have just discovered the wonderful world of limited-run Czech-made kits... I've jumped off my Spitfire treadmill to do a FAA Phantom, and through that have discovred all these interesting planes flown by the Royal Navy over the years. All those butt-ugly Blackburns and Faireys are extraordinarily well represented in the offers of the likes of Special Hobby and Valom. These kits usually come with a combination of injection-moulded, resin and photo-etched parts.

Anyways, my point (I do have one) is... I've never used these PE parts before... can anyone give me any tips on working with them? How should they be painted, fixed in place etc?

Cheers!

Copied this over from another thread:

1) If you are planning on painting any PE parts, make sure you clean them first to take off any oils. They can be hand painted or airbrushed with either enamels or acrylics - whether you hand paint them or airbrush them will depend on the size of piece involved and your skill. Some people recommend priming and also doing some LIGHT sanding to rough up the surface to make a better bond with the paint - I've never done either. This ONLY applies to the PE sets that are NOT pre-painted - those can be used without any prep.

2) You want to attach them using a CA glue, in particular a slow drying CA glue so you have time to position the piece(s) where you want them. when the CA dries you can always go back and touch up any overrun on the glue if necessary. Note that CA glue applied to a painted surface will actually bond with the PAINT and not the underlying surface. If you need to detach a glue PE part, you can use a CA debonder. If will dissolve the CA joint in a hardbeat but it turns any paint it touches into goo.