Aircraft art copyrights

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

modelmaker

Recruit
Jul 8, 2023
Hello everyone,

I'm a paper model designer from Poland. Currently working on a kickstarter campaign for my first line of products themed "War over Pacific" which will land on kickstarter next year and include Wilcat, Hellcat, Corsair and a bigger machine like a Privateer or Catalina, not sure yet. It's my goal to introduce some improvements to the hobby and I have one very specific question I find hard to find answer to which is - copyrights related to "decals", nose art and camouflage. I would love to recreate WWII era art but I'm not sure if I'm even allowed to do it?

I was able to find somewhat related thread. This one however is more about pictures than what you would put on fuselage :).

Would anyone be so kind and give me some tips if possible? Maybe guide me in some direction?

I'm currently gathering documentation and designing my first model - F4F-3 Wildcat :).

Attachments

• 20230621_161144.jpg
    20230621_161144.jpg
    438.6 KB · Views: 14
  • 20230621_161201.jpg
    20230621_161201.jpg
    427.4 KB · Views: 14
  • 20230621_161216.jpg
    20230621_161216.jpg
    448.9 KB · Views: 14
  • 20230621_161255.jpg
    20230621_161255.jpg
    428.3 KB · Views: 14
  • 20230705_135838aaa.jpg
    20230705_135838aaa.jpg
    308.5 KB · Views: 13
Actually I didn't even mean to copy something from a book :). What if I recreate an art from historical pictures, videos?

Actually all the artworks created for a book are copyrighted and the artists receive a percentage of the book sales and that is often their sole source of income. I know this because my wifes family includes a fairly famous author.

The best contact is the book publisher.
That is the (re-) drawing and the research and text under the drawing.
Not the original artwork or nose art or whatever.