Australian Ace Colin Parkinson headset

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

mhan

Recruit
Nov 20, 2012
Hi all, hoping the following is of interest to you. I am a retired History teacher with an interest in WW2 and militaria. I have just purchased a lot at a Sydney auction house, described as "quantity of Spitfire/airforce ephemera", it consists of a 2 ear piece wireless head set with detached wires, I imagine this to be the WW2 spitfire bit??, an incomplete set of Rude Star identifier round charts from 1942 USA Navy publication, and a number of items dating from the decade 1960-1970 that would relate to a pilot ( commercial) ie Flight radio operator's manual 1969, the observers basic book of aircraft civil 1970, Sight reduction tables for air navigation vol 3 1967, neatly written on the Flight radio operators manual is C H Parkinson. I asked the auctioneer why he described this as a spitfire lot, he said it had been purchased some time back by a friend of his for her son and the son did not want it, so he was reselling it, cost me $120. I think what I have is Aust'n WW2 pilot F/O Colin Henry DFC, his spitfire headset and star navigation charts. If this is so he must have flown as a commercial pilot after the war, I am trying to track this down without success so far. Can anyone identify the type of headset in the image as that which may have belonged to a spitfire pilot??
many thanks,
Mark in Newcastle

2.jpg
IMG_0381.JPG

It might have done, but it looks more like a crew headset, possibly civilian.( i once had a very similar set, when i was a kid in the 1950s.)