B-17B 1\48 Scale - WIP

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Jan 19, 2009
Hi all!

Well, I've lurked around here for a few years, but thought I'd finally post a few pics of a long term project I'm working on:
She's going to be a 1/48 scale B-17B, circa August 1939 and I've been working on her slowly since January 2012.
ff0e24e874190330_largeb.jpg

And here's where we're at:

20120609_221059.jpg

I've definitely spent a lot more time researching the -B than actually building... so many questions!

I started with the Koster C\D conversion (and actually had started building a -C model), and have been trying to learn some new techniques along the way.I'm not the best scratch-builder, but I sure do enjoy it. If she ever gets completed, she's going to be lit up with some fiber optics.

20120609_220835.jpg

This bulkhead is the level of detail I'm after -- a long ways away everywhere else!
Other Pics:
20120609_222130.jpg

20120609_220916.jpg

20120609_222231.jpg

Definitely a long ways off... I had started the framing back when she was going to be a -C; and then cut the enlarged opening for the blister.

Going to need to redo most of the framing around the turret. This is the sliding part of the turret test-fit in place -- I haven't put any of the turret framing in except for the edge of the sliding part. I am going to be putting the slot-cover in place on likely all three turrets in lieu of cutting the slot -- my attempts to cut the slot on a test piece didn't work that well.

20120609_221222.jpg

This is the slot cover -- the bracket seen at the right will be on the other three 'dots'. On the real aircraft, the cover was placed into the slot from inside the turret, and then the brackets rotated to fasten it to the slot-frame. Embossing aluminum to represent the frame with cover in place is a lot easier than making the separate pieces in 1\48 scale!

Here's an example on the real plane: