Battles the U.S> were in

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

AviationMan20

Recruit
Aug 5, 2006
Of all the battles the U.S. were in, what are the one's that are important? Or should I know about all of them? I'm new to WWII.

Well to learn about WW2 you should learn about as many of them as possible.

The most obviously important ones though were D-Day, Operation Market Garden, Battle of the Bulge (Ardennes Offensive), Battle of Monte Cassino, Battle of Huertgen Forest, N. Africa landings, Italy Landings, Pearl Harbor, Iwo Jima, Midway, Coral Sea, Okinawa, Guadalcanal, Battle of the Philippines, and the CBI campaign.

Ofcourse this is just the tip of the iceberg. There are many more important battles, in fact all the battles were important and worth learning about.

Add to The Eagles list,
Kasserine, Bizerte, Sicily, Salerno, Cassino, Anzio, Anvil/Dragoon(Sth France), Remagen in Europe/Africa.

From the Pacific, Bataan,Wake Is, Tarawa, Doolittle's Raid, The Submarine war, The Solomons, New Guinea, Bouganville,

A great site to start at is:HyperWar: World War II on the World Wide Web

All are good battles to know about for WW2. But, for AvMan20 to cover all those battles in any kind of depth, it'll take a couple of years and he can probably write a Master's thesis from an Ivy League U when he's done. Not knocking the list, just the volume.

Suggest a limited list of 5 battles the US was in that were instrumental in the entry, conduct and eventually victory of the US during World War 2. Might make it easier for him to get his head around it. Granted, 5 is a tough number. But maybe it can be 5 in the ETO (European Theatre of Operations) and 5 in the PTO (Pacific...).

Putting my money where my mouth is:
Europe
1. Battle of the Atlantic
2. Air War from Aug 1942 to April 1945 covering All of ETO- Focus on the 8th.
3. D-Day
4. Invasion of Africa and defeat of the Africa Corp
5. Battle of the Bulge