Beaufighter Mk.X RD253

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Wirbelwind

Airman
Sep 8, 2009
So I've recently learnt that there have been many WW2 aircraft that were either built as one variant but then later converted to another variant, or ordered as one variant but switched to another variant at some point during construction. The end result is usually an aircraft with a bunch of externally visible oddities (e.g. patch panel and "bumps"). As a modeler, I try to capture as much as I can about every aircraft I model.

I've now got my eyes set on Beaufighter Mk.X RD253 for my next project. I've been looking around for information on this aircraft and found this document containing its history: Beaufighter-X-RD253.pdf. It's obvious that RD253 is an Mk.X, but the question I have is whether it was also ordered as an Mk.X. Does anyone know where I might be able to confirm this? Any bit of information is welcome, including educated guesses!

Last edited:
It's obvious that RD253 is an Mk.X, but the question I have is whether it was also ordered as an Mk.X.

Max89, I think the first paragraph of the RAF Museum history will confirm that for you.

"Built as part of contract No.B65570 at the Bristol Aeroplane company's'
`Shadow' factory at Old Mixon, Weston-super-Mare, with Bristol
Hercules XVII engines. Part of a batch of 500 Beaufighter X aircraft built
at Weston Sep. 44 - Aug 45, serial nos. RD130 - RD867.