Bell X-1 Rocket Engine

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

MIflyer

1st Lieutenant
May 30, 2011
Cape Canaveral
From Av Week, Jan 1947

XS-1Engine-1.jpg
XS-1Engine-2.jpg

Nice one - do you have the rest of the article on cockpit design? It has always been an item of interest to me as so many early (pre 1960) accidents are related to that subject and there are still modern accidents caused by it tho much rarer.

No, I do not have that one. You can go to Archive.org and look for it. I did a masters paper on cockpit design for a course in human factors, so I know what you mean.

A few years back there was a Cessna 182 that flew from GA to NC and along the way they quit talking to ATC. They overflew any number of perfectly good controlled airports and then tried to land at an uncontrolled field in gathering darkness and bad weather, crashed, and both people on board died.

The conclusion was that the 182 used the same audio panel as the larger Cessna twins. There was a switch position to switch from headsets to cabin speaker, but the 182 has no cabin speaker, so throwing the switch in that position made it impossible to hear the radios. Unable to communicate, they tried to only land at uncontrolled fields. While anyone would be stupid enough to put a switch position that essentially shuts off the audio output from the radios and not label it as such is beyond me.

No, I do not have that one. You can go to Archive.org and look for it. I did a masters paper on cockpit design for a course in human factors, so I know what you mean.

A few years back there was a Cessna 182 that flew from GA to NC and along the way they quit talking to ATC. They overflew any number of perfectly good controlled airports and then tried to land at an uncontrolled field in gathering darkness and bad weather, crashed, and both people on board died.