Calling all buffs! Can you guys help with a story? (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

sabrina

Airman 1st Class
OK, so most of you probably know I'm an aviation/fiction writer. I would love your input and some help on something I'm working on.

I have a female character in WWII, early 20's, and need a plausible reason to get her into Asia from America. She is a WASP and so is trained as a pilot, and I'm throwing around a few ideas, but I really don't like any of them yet.

The WASP were never permitted to get too far from the coastline, never flying in combat, and kept in this country, so I need some ways to get her to Asia.

Any and all ideas are completely welcome....whether it's her will or against it, under deceptive circumstances or routine, a crash or emergency, an invitation. Of course, I'm especially interested in reasons that have historical backings, and it does not have to be related to WASP activities or aviation.

If I don't get a chance to say it, thank you in advance to anyone with ideas suggestions. Hope everyone's doing well...I haven't had a chance to be one here too much lately.

She's on leave and was hired to ferry an aircraft for a private individual expecting to be back before it (her leave) was up.

Was flying in Alaska and got blown off course in a storm

I don't think it's that far from Nome to Russia, maybe 300 miles to Alyatki and the Keystone bombers of the period had a range of at least 600 miles. The De Havilland DH-4's where one of the first aircraft to land in Nome in the 1920's had a range of 400 miles.