Can a piston-powered plane use isooctane directly?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

donkeyking

Airman
Dec 6, 2005
Can a piston-powered plane replace 100UL or 100LL with isooctane as it's fuel?

If yes, how much are the three kind of fuels?

Thanks

Donkeyking

donkeyking, i'm no expert but the hydrocarbon n-octane is what the "octane rating" is based on. the iso- is the shifting of a CH3 group to one of the other 7 carbon atoms and should make no difference in combustion. but gasoline fuels contain lots of other additive compounds to do various things for the engine. i'd not want to use pure octane in any engine i wanted to keep using for a long period of time

If im not mistaken they used heptain? ( not sure of spelling) during the testing of the acessory sections on radial engines during the war. it would boost a 2000hp rating to around 4000. it was used to see what would give out. they used it in airracing in the late 40s when it was surplus and the planes/engines were relatively inexpensive. i think the F2G corsair racer used it. i think thats were i read it. can anyone confirm this?

robwkamm, you almost got it, it's heptane, one carbon and 2 hydrogens less than octane which has 8 carbon atoms
the only thing i've ever heard of to boost performance that high is Nitro (nitro methane)

For knock testing in engines heptane is the zero octane rating fuel. Iso-octane is the 100% octane rating fuel. So it was not heptane that was used for a huge boost, it would have been iso-octane. And yes for a high boost or compression ratio, iso-octane would be the way to go.
It wouldn't be needed in 100% quantity, it could be mixed with a lower octane fuel.
Reference Fuels