Corsair Colour Question? (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Vengeance

Airman
Jul 2, 2012
Melbourne
Hi Guys, newbie here!
About to attempt my first dual action Airbrush paint scheme, the F4U-1D, looking to attempt the tri-color white, sea grey and sea blue scheme using mainly Tamiya Acrylics for the airbrush areas and mainly Humbrol enamels for the smaller hand brushing parts!

Researching the correct colours on the net I've found information that says the Tamiya XF-17 Sea Blue is close to correct but when scaled down to 1/48 appears to be too dark, resulting in an almost black appearance.

Can anyone give me some advice on the three colours in Tamiya acrylics, and perhaps alternatives or suggestions on how one goes about lightening up the XF-17 to get a better result?

I've looked through some of the start to finish build thread here but can find no discussion regarding paints used!

Any help is appreciated!
P.S I've got time on my hands at the moment as I'm still fiddling around with the photo-etch in the cockpit!

Cheers,
Vengeance!

Just use these colours that are suggested and add some of white to each of them stiring carefully before airbrushing. Also I woud suggest trying to apply samples of the mixtures at a piece of white cardboard or sprue frame firstly in order to assess the contrast at demarcation lines between them.

Last edited:
Newbie with 60 posts? Wow. I agree with Wojtek on cutting with a bit of white. It will not only deal with the scale issue but could also simulate weathering due to strong sun exposure. I've not dealt with the tri-colour scheme that your talking about in particular but have done the Atlantic scheme which is different.