Does anyone have the wartime thread specifications please?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Sutts

Airman
Jan 3, 2019
I'm studying B-17 engineering drawings and finding references to threads I have no knowledge of.
Is anyone familiar with the thread standards of the time please? I'm looking specifically for thread major and minor dimensions.
The kind of refs I'm seeing are:

11/16-24 NS-2
1 15/16-16 NS-3
2 7/16-16 N-3
1-14 NF-3

There seems to be a common specification document for these threads which I haven't been able to locate: AN-GGG-S-126

Anyone out there that works on these old birds? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

I would suggest the Machinery's Handbook. It comes in various editions since 1914, with the current edition being the 30th, but you will need to locate an edition prior to about 1976 to find the thread specifications you are looking for. I think the 1976 edition was the 20th edition, so that edition or before, but after about 1930 should provide the information you are looking. Some of the sizes (nominal diameters and TPI) will probably be uncommon in use, so the other dimensions (major/pitch/minor diameters, lands, root forms, thread angles, tolerances, etc.) may not be in table form. If that is the case you will have to use the formula provided.

It has been a long time since I worked with any of the thread types you listed, but I think they are all part of the 'National' thread type, or modified variants of them. The 'N' indicating 'National', the 'F' indicating 'Fine' pitch, and the 'S' indicating 'Special'??