F-86 Sabre airfoil section

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Wind_Minstral

Recruit
Mar 14, 2009
Sydney
G'day,
I am a student studying aeronautical engineering at Sydeny Uni in Australia and I have been given an assignment on Figure of Merit calculations. Things like best climb rate, top speed, tighest turn angle, take off length that sort of stuff.
The calculations at the moment are simplified but I need the airfoil section for the F-86A Sabre so that I can find technical data for my calculations.
If someone could provide me with the code or a link to data taken for the section I would be very greatful.

Cheers,

Byron

G'day,
I am a student studying aeronautical engineering at Sydeny Uni in Australia and I have been given an assignment on Figure of Merit calculations. Things like best climb rate, top speed, tighest turn angle, take off length that sort of stuff.
The calculations at the moment are simplified but I need the airfoil section for the F-86A Sabre so that I can find technical data for my calculations.
If someone could provide me with the code or a link to data taken for the section I would be very greatful.

Cheers,

Byron

The Incomplete Guide to Airfoil Usage

NACA 0009.5-64 (Root) NACA 0008.5-64 (tip) for F-86A

Thank you very much, Sorry for the late reply I've been frantic with this assignment and have been compiling my bibliography.

Yours in Aero,
Byron

Thank you very much, Sorry for the late reply I've been frantic with this assignment and have been compiling my bibliography.

Yours in Aero,
Byron

Byron - your more difficult series of calculations will have to deal with effect of leading edge slats on very low speed, high gross weight, performance metrics (i.e. short field landing).