FW190A canopy without antenna roller?

Discussion in 'Technical Requests' started by Alte Hase, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. Alte Hase

    Alte Hase Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi all,

    I was reading decal instructions for an FW190 A-8 (Dortenmann's FW190A-8 Red 1), and noticed that this machine had a standard canopy (ie not 'blown') that had no antenna roller/pulley.I am aware of other a-8s with the standard canopy that had this too, I think 'Kolle alaaf!' of JG 300 was one other example.

    I've tried to find close up photos or diagrams of this type of canopy to see how the antenna wire entered the cockpit without the roller assembly and also how the top of the canopy looked in instances where the roller was not present but have so far found nothing.

    If anyone has any information, I'd really appreciate it!
     
  2. stona

    stona Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    946
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It didn't enter the cockpit. There was a 'down wire' to the radio compartment to the rear.

    There was a fitting and simple hook on top of the canopy.

    [​IMG]

    Cheers

    Steve
     
  3. Alte Hase

    Alte Hase Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks stona. I have this photo too ( from the "Walkaround" series ), but I believe it refers to the 'blown' canopy only. Was the 'regular' canopy that did not have the roller exactly the same as the fitting on the blown canopy?
     
  4. stona

    stona Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    946
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It would have to be something similar. The way the tensioning system worked to double the antenna wire back inside the cockpit and rearwards to the radio was dependant on maintaining the tension, wherever the hood was. If the wire was passed into the cockpit without the system I can see serious problems when attempting to open/close the cockpit hood with slack wire doing what unmanaged cable always does...getting into exactly the places you don't want it.
    I can't check further until next month when I get home.
    Cheers
    Steve
     
  5. Alte Hase

    Alte Hase Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for that. That makes perfect sense. I's still love to see a photo or diagram of the flat canopy without the roller, just to get a picture of it in my head.
     
Loading...

Share This Page