Greetings from Georgia (USA, that is) (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Good Morning -
I'm new here.
I wish I could say I was a pilot but that's not quite true. I "learned" to fly 20 years ago in a Piper J-5....but, it crashed before I soloed. (long story - the pilot didn't have it tied down properly, had the throttle open too wide when she propped the motor....the pilotless aircraft moved forward, she ducked the blade and tried to climb aboard but it gained speed and she fell away...before getting airborne it ran into a fence)
I do enjoy the dream of being a pilot, however. When the opportunity presents itself I visit museums and go up with others. Have also had the good fortune to have been able to ride in a C-47, B-25 and two B-17s (plus a 1928 Travel Air 4000).
I'm very interested in the WWII air war in Europe as well as history in general. I am an avid reader and author.
I fear I may ask far more questions than I will be able to provide answers/help for others.
My thanks to the originators, moderators and the contributors to this website. You people are providing a great service to the advancement of our collective knowledge.

Welcome to the forum, Dream Flyer. You sound like a person who has been
around awhile. May I ask your age ?? I hope you stay here for while too...

Charles

ccheese
"....been around for awhile." That's delicately put. How about "not quite 60"?
In other activities where modern stuff competes with the "old" I've been known to show up with some "old" and sometimes "very old"....and remark "...anything designed after WWI can't be trusted." All in fun, of course. But, when someone with a modern state of the art loses to someone using something from the 1890's....well, it's all part of the fun. As for aircraft....I know nothing about the new stuff; and don't really care about them.