Hello and Introduction!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

dmeephd

Airman
Apr 30, 2009
Milford, NJ
I just joined this forum this morning. I am an avid modeler, primarily European Railways of Epoche II - V (1920 to present). This hobby brings me into contact with other modeling aspects, namely Epoche II (1920 - 1945) military models, including aircraft. I look forward to an interesting exchange of information and ideas.

On a personal note, I'm a degreed electrical engineer, born in the US, educated and worked in Germany for 20 years. I'm widowed, have three Miniature Schnauzers and three older BMW cars (1996 635Csi, 1986 735i, and my baby, a mint condition 1988 M6).

Now, down to the business at hand. I have been looking all over for some 1940s era photographs of the Messerschmitt factories in Augsburg or Regensburg. I'd even settle for a history book of Messerschmitt that had some illustrations. I've googled, checked out Amazon.com and Amazon.de (Germany), and the Wikipedia. Found one book by Schmoll. Otherwise, Nada. (About a gazillion books on the aircraft themselves, it was and is a popular modeling subject!)

I model WWII Luftwaffe aircraft (1/72nd scale) and European Model Railways (HO scale). I have all of these wagon sets - from Liliput, Marklin, and Trix - of transported and disassembled Messerschmitt Bf 109 fighters (plus the new 2009 Marklin releases on order) and have nowhere for these train consists to originate. I could simply freelance a building, but I would like to be somewhat realistic and have a structure (or series of structures) that would be reminiscent of the original.

Unfortunately, Google Earth is useless as these buildings are long gone. Even the EADS website - the successor company to Messerschmitt - only covers their history from 1999.

Do any of our European members know of a website or have some photos of these factories?

David Martin, Ph.D.