Hello from (what used to be) RAF Warmwell!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

CJWensleydale

Airman
Aug 8, 2011
Dorset
Hi all. I've just found this site and registered. I've recently moved to a village that stands on the site of an old RAF base and this has awakened a passion for all things 'planey', particularly aircraft that served here in RAF Warmwell. I'm a bit of an amateur artist and am working on a picture of a MkIIB 'Hurribomber' flying over Dorset, but am not sure which Sqn to make it. If anyone can give me a steer as to where to find info on markings (particulary individual aircraft registrations) for aircraft in either 175 or 402 Sqns, I would be most grateful...
Kind regards

CJWensleydale

Quis Separabit

G'day CJ, welcome from the colonies and I've a feeling Andy has hit the mark but I'm not sure he is awake yet.................

Been awake all day old boy, but only just got back from a hospital appointment.
Welcome from a fellow artist 'up North'. So 175 and 402 Squadrons eh?
The Hurricane MkIIBs flown by 175 Sqn were coded HH (as were their later Typhoons), and an example would be HH-T, serial number BE482. They had these between March 1942 and April 1943, when they converted to Typhoons.
402 Squadron, RCAF, were based at Warmwell from 6 November 1941 until 4 March 1942, when they moved to Colerne. Their Hurricane IIBs were coded AE, an example being AE-K, serial number BE417.
hope this helps. Cheers,
Terry.

Hello right back to you all and thanks Terry - that gives me something to go on. At the moment I reckon I'll go for a theme where the Hurricane belongs to 175 Sqn, flying over Maiden Castle perhaps. Would I be correct in saying that they where actually formed at Warmwell?

I must confess to being a little perturbed at this new found interest in aircraft, considering I spent most of my working life to date riding around on tanks - still, never too late eh?...:confused: