Hello - New Guy, From Canada

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Zeke_Freak

Airman
Dec 30, 2010
Oppps. :oops: I have been here for a few weeks already I think... but I forgot to say 'Hello'.

So, 'Hello!'

I recently found this website while researching for an upcoming model build, the Airfix 1/24 JU87-B2 Stuka. I'm excited about this build as I've always wanted to do a big Stuka. It's one of the re-issued versions.

I used to build models like crazy as a kid. Mostly aircraft starships. But I haven't completed a model in 30 years. So I'm very out of practice. Over the last year or so I've been building my collection of tools supplies, and working on a few projects to get back in practice. Still I have so much to learn. I am an amateur... now just an older amateur.

Here's a picture of me as a kid in my favorite local model shop, called 'Roundel Hobbies'. It was only opened from the late 70's to the mid-late 80's. They used to hold model building contests, which I enjoyed building for. In the picture I had just won a draw for the model I was holding.

asakidroundelhobbies2-0.jpg

As for my recent model work, there is not much worth showing. There is one thing I am happy with. I was able to light up the engines of a model starship that's only 1.5 inches long. It's the starship Tantive IV, from Star Wars.

comparison-0.jpg

tantiveivlitup-0.jpg

Leif

Last edited:
Well Freak, welcome to the club from a Kangaroo. Looking forward to seeing your build. You can get all the help and advice you will ever need from the blokes in here... Bill

Belated hello Leif. Nice to see some more Canucks around here. Your story is very familiar. I have a similar pic (Polaroid!) in a box somehwhere of me as a teen with my winning model at a local contest.