Henschell Hs129 B-3

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

rochie

Staff
Mod
ok i plan on doing a Hs129 B-3 for the heavy hitters GB, the profile below is the subject i have decals for.

Henschel_Hs_129_1.jpg

would it have had the yellow theater band and yellow lower cowls and nose like other 129's i have seen ?
can't find any pics of this bird so any help would be appreciated.

No doubt someone will chip in Karl, but I would have thought that, being a theater colour, the yellow bands and panels would have been in place. But I'm not well versed in Eastern front stuff, so maybe there's a reason the profile dosns't show bands - although all photos I've seen of this aircraft type seem to have them.

Are we sure that cannon configuration went operational before the end of the war? I'm no expert, but I seem to remember the only photo I have ever seen of that "get up" was a test aircraft, that may have even had the black factory codes still on it. I will have to look... Just sayin'.

Are we sure that cannon configuration went operational before the end of the war? I'm no expert, but I seem to remember the only photo I have ever seen of that "get up" was a test aircraft, that may have even had the black factory codes still on it. I will have to look... Just sayin'.

got the Kagero book on this crate and it seems a few did see service

I have the Luftwaffe's Classics #2 on this plane, if nobody has answered I can look once I get home.

cheers mate appreciate it, have a profile of a different bird with yellow panels and coded DO + XG but nothing on my subject !

Yes a number of B-3's with the cannon did see service, at least with 10.(Pz)/SG 9 13.(Pz)/SG 9. Others were equipped but do not appear to have been used in combat.