hi and help

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

dampspark

Recruit
Feb 23, 2009
hi everyone

I'm hoping you guys can point me in the right direction to some information I'm after. You see I'm a writer ( OK all together Oh JEZZ not another one-good job I've a sense of humour!) I'm after photo's/layouts of RAF Coningsby c 1943 may 22/23 rd to be exact.

it's the date of a raid on Dortmund 826 aircraft dispatched. 38 never came home-at lot of good guys down.

I've been offered a chance to write an outline plot which could go out as a TV mini series ( if I'm lucky-we'll see) I've got about an inch of paper print outs now which should give the enough for chapter 1. I won't know if what I've got is enough until i start to write it. BUT, for example I want to start off with a WAAF batwoman waking up a Lanc crew. Did she walk down the corridor of a wooden hut or were they all brick built? I want that sort of detail. I don't know about you guys but I get racked off when I read something written by someone one who dosen't know/can't be bothered to find out.

If someone could tell me where to go ( been there-the thermostats stuck too high!) to find some photos etc I'd be very grateful.

maybe I'm not the worlds best Author but if I can stick it back into the publics face what these guys did for us all it'll be something?

regards

Hi mate, I might not be able to help that much, but let's see what I can do.
First, as far as I know, Conningsby was/is an 'expansion period' airfield, with 'permanent' accommodation. Certainly the main site buidlings were, and are today of course. I visited the Station a few times in the '80's, during the course of producing an AV programme, and much of the site was original.
I have a sketch of the airfield layout, which won't be tremendous help for your requirements, but I can e-mail it if you think it will help. (PM an address).