Home Made Resin Parts

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Best tip I can give you is when you cast the parts, if the mold is small enough, place it quickly in a can securely tied to some cord and wizz that sucker around over your head and use centrifical force to get the air bubbles out and get the resin in all the nooks and crannies in the mold. Becareful to make the sides of your mold thick enough so that it will not deform under the G's.

Good luck and remember that this can be done on the cheap!

Thanks Harrison. Sounds a bit complicated and pricey in that link.

Vick, I'm intrigued but I've never done this before. How do you do it "on the cheap"? What materials do you use and where do you get them? Harrison's link is a German guy and the stuff he uses doesn't sound like it would be availble here.

Andy, most art and craft supply stores will stock Casting Resin and Hardener, also some model shops. moulds can be made either from polyurethane, from the same sources, or, for some small parts, from 'Plasticine' (kiddies play clay).
Basically, you'll need a 'master' from which to make the mould, and this can be, for example, a kit part, such as a wheel.
It's a long time since I made a 'full' mould with the polyurethane, and then only for relatively large parts, as the mould will need to be cut in half to allow extraction of the finished part, or made in such a way it can be 'peeled' back, like casting plater of Paris ornaments.
When using Plasticine for makine, say, a wheel, the 'master' can be pressed into the clay, and very carefully removed, and then repeated for the reverse side. (casting in two halves).
Resin is poured in, with the hardener added per the instructions, and allowed to set. Air bubbles can be a problem but, on small parts, if poured carefully and slowly, after thorough mixing, it shouldn't be a major problem.