Just have to share Airbrush News!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Robert Porter

Senior Master Sergeant
So I have had every issue you can have with an airbrush. Tip Dry, spitting, orange peel, overloading etc. I started right off using a double action brush which admittedly takes some getting used to.

That said, after 100's of hours painting paper towels, paper, models, junk plastic, for sale signs, basically anything that would stay still long enough (the cat kept moving) I am finally at the point where "It Just Works"!

What I am trying to convey is that all the folks that said keep practicing were absolutely correct. I noticed today when I was working on my P-38J that I was able to make color changes, and cleanups almost by second nature instead of the labor intensive process it had felt like at the beginning.

This does not by any stretch of the imagination mean I am an expert or even a mid level user. It does mean that now the feel is more natural. I can now tell the difference between my airbrushes and the needle nozzle sizes by feel and how the paint goes down! I have worked out the appropriate mixes of thinner and paint for each of the brands I use and the best cleaner to use for each. So the color change process that used to take such a long time is now a minute or two.

I have also learned what pressures work best for me, my brush, and my paints. And like some have said, there is no magic number it is just something that works for you and your location. Your milage WILL vary compared to mine.

So to all of you that like me were brush painters and looked askance at the new fangled airbrush thingy, take hope! If I can get comfortable with it anyone can!