Main battle tanks of today.....

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Lucky13

Forum Mascot
Aug 21, 2006
In my castle....
Which is best, all things considered, on the battlefield today?

Is the Leopard 2
Leo2A5.jpg

Challenger 2
Challenger_II.jpg

M1 Abrams
M1-A1_Abrams_1.jpg

Leclerc
Leclerc-IMG_1744.jpg

Type 99
Type_99_MBT_front_right.jpg

T-90
T-90_armyrecognition_russia_011.jpg

Arjun
Arjun_MBT.GIF

Merkava
Merkava-2-latrun-2.jpg

Missed anyone...?

Isn't the Challenger II battle proven too as you say Adler? How does the Challenger II and M1 Abrams compare to each other?

My "vote" goes to Lepoard II....

To be honest I am not that sure. I am far from an expert on Tanks. That is why my post contained so little in it. :lol:

I don't have the latest information in my head but at one time the German's tank had an edge. I don't know if that is the case with the current block. I will see what info the Armor Assoc has.

DBII

From my understanding the new Leopard 2A-6 from my undestanding has the edge based on technology, armour, and capability.

It is however not battle proven.

EDIT: The Leopard 2 has been in combat (just not tank to tank combat). The Canadians are using the A6 in Afghanistan.

Some Leopard 2's armament are to be replaced with a 140mm cannon.

Interesting tidbit is that the M1 uses the same cannon as the Leopard 2.

Some tidbits on the the Leopard 2.