Model Kits - Accessories?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

JG33

Recruit
Dec 2, 2013
South Australia
I have the following kits to build but as a beginner I was wondering whether it is worthwhile purchasing some accessories to add more detail or just use what is in the boxes. If purchasing accessories what would people recommend?

The model kits are:
1:72 Airfix Supermarine Spitfire MkVb
1:72 Airfix Avro Lancaster B.MkI/III

I decided to get the Spit as my first project because like I said, I am a beginner!

Cheers

Do the Spitfire first! The Lancaster is actually quite a challenging model, not least because of all those clear parts.
I would just build what is in the box if you are just starting out in the hobby. There's a lot to learn and just like anything else you can't learn it all from a book but only by practical experience.
Once you feel confident with your building and painting/finishing techniques you might want to consider going for those added extras.
Cheers
Steve

Fully agree with Steve. Best to take it in stages, get comfortable and satisfied with the results of several OOB (out of the box) builds and then try accessories. Most tend to favour advanced modeling techniques and can be pricey.

I'd also suggest you try scratch building some parts yourself using inexpensive materials like plastic card and rod which are available in any store that calls itself a hobby shop. Stretched sprue is also handy for scratch building and comes free with every kit!