Movie/Theater snacks outside of United States?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Vassili Zaitzev

Master Sergeant
Nov 25, 2005
Connecticut, United States
Hey guys,

Hope everyone is doing well. Apologies for not being on for awhile; I'm in my final semester to obtain a MA in Public History and it's likely the hardest one yet! I had to take a non-history elective so I'm currently writing an English paper in non-fiction creative writing. I have to write an essay on food, in this case the stuff they sell at movies( I worked in a movie theater over the summer). I want to write an angle on why popcorn is popular at the movies, and the addition of other snack food. I'm also trying to compare what moviegoers eat outside the US.

I want to ask the members outside the United States: What do movie theaters sell for food in your countries? I'm looking online but have not had much success. There are a lot of websites about European cinema chains, but I have no luck finding what they have for concessions.

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys, and take care!

In Oz its the usual rubbish of Popcorn, frozen coke,raspberry drink. Maltesers, choc top ice creams, M&M's, skittels, Jaffas etc. However if you go to a Gold Class cinema you get waited on with meals and alcohol. See here for menus. See the menu

Well, the last time I went to the movies here in the great white north, they served poutine. Doubt you can get that in the US.

Thanks guys, looks like similar methods throughout. Grau, I think AMC theatres have that in select locations. I worked at a Cinemark; we were not that fancy but you could order Chicken Tenders/fries, etc. and bring it into the movie. I did a little digging on the subject. Concession selling really didn't start until the Great Depression, which saved a lot of theaters from bankruptcy.