Murals at Chanute AFB (abandoned)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Pretty cool - they had some at George AFB as well. Got to go inside some of the buildings after the place was closed. Didn't realize that Chanute still had buildings standing.

Kind of sad, really. I remember being involved in a couple of murals in my days in the AF, one at Lackland, one at Keesler. It's sad that the pride and patriotism of yesterdays warriors has been left to rot.

Kind of like the murals painted in the AAF installations in England during WW2?

Man, does that bring back some memories! As a young Airman, I graduated Chanute's Weather Observer school in '75. Eleven years later, I went back for Radar and Satellite classes as a Captain.

White Hall was the big building holding all the classes. I recognize many of the hallways, although the only painting I recall is the one at the entrance to the Marine wing.

I recall I had to visit the Marine wing because I had some software that needed to be loaded on a Z248 computer. When I was there, I "paid" for my time on their computer by doing some tweaking and configuring of the system in the Marine commander's office.

It's a shame to see that monster of a building decay like that. I'd always thought it would make a great community college, but what do I know. Reading the photographer's remarks, I guess I'm just a dinosaur.

CD