Mystery Mark 8 Navy gunsights (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

airmanual

Airman
Aug 17, 2011
Good day all,

I'm new to this site which i "unfortunately" only discovered very recently. I must say its really a treasure trove of useful information.

I've been collecting gunsights for quite a few years and had to come to the conclusion that detailed info on gunsights (especially US and GB) is even more difficult to find than the gunsights. Hope i will find here other enthusiasts/collectors with whom to exchange info, photos, technical docs, ...

Here are 2 examples of gunsights for which i have absolutely no info as to type of aircraft fitted or even if WWII or later dated.

First one is a Mark 8 Mod. 1 sighting head mounted on a standard Mark 8 Mod. 6 sight. As you can see, contrary to the classic Mk. 8 Mod. 8 gunsight mounted in most WWII Navy and USAAF fighters, this one has an adjustable sighting glass.

P1070481.jpg

P1070477.jpg

P1070478.jpg

Second one is also based on a Mark 8 Mod. 6 sight but with no markings on the sighting head. I've been told this may be a Mark 10 Mod. 0 gunsight but without any further details. To make it even more puzzling, i also have a sighting head identical to the one mounted on the second sight and this one is marked Mark 7 Mod. 0.

P1070482.jpg

P1070485.jpg

The Mark 7 sighting head :

P1070487.jpg

P1070495.jpg

Can anyone help ?

Also, if anyone want photos of any sight i have, i would gladly share them.

Have a nice day,

Laurent
(Belgium)

Those gun sights are in excellent condition; I wish I could help with some info, but i'm glad you posted the pics. Excellent detail of the sights.

Oh; and welcome to the forum, there are some very knowledgeable folks here that may have some answers for you.
Derek

Hi Laurent,