New guy here with a request. (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Radman95611

Airman
Feb 27, 2014
Athens, Ga
Hello everyone. While I am not exactly new to this site (I've visited for many months now), this is my first post. I've enjoyed all of the model building and discussions about everything military aircraft. I am an Air Force vet (20 years) and have been around the world a few times. I have a story and then a request to ask of you.

In March of 2012 the B-17 Memphis Belle (the one from the movie) flew into the Tallahasse airport. I took my youngest son (27years old) and girlfriend to go see it. As I was looking at the gift rack that was set up I noticed this frail man sitting in his walker in full WWII uniform. His daughter was talking to the gentlemanselling some book and tee-shirts about her father. How he was a waist gunner in a B-17 that was shot down over Germany. When she was done I introduced myself and asked if I could talk with her father and that I was interested in his story. She said I could and told me everything she knew (which I found out was quite a bit. I talked with the old SSgt.and found out that he was wounded on his last mission before being shot down. I asked if I could take some pictures of him and they said that was ok. So I took a few. I found out that SSgt. Fink was in a retirement home here in town and that his daughter lived up north somewhere. After I got home and say the picture, I made contact with the daughter and shared all of the pictures that I had from that day. I also made a DVD of the pictures with music from the 40's. They loved it and was really appreciative of what I had done.
IMG_5008.jpg