New to model building and looking for a place to start. -Gonna build'em all! (Paint too.. probably)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Falanca

Recruit
Jan 19, 2020
Hello, i am quite new to model building and looking for some online retail stores with good prices where i can buy some starter kits. I only found lots of models and mega hobby but dont know if any of them are good. Lots of models looks cheaper overall though. Does any one have exprience with any of them?? Thanks :)

Last edited:
Yeah probably 1:72 or 1:48. Want to start small and see how im doing. But im from Turkey so its hard to find a good site with international shipping. A would prefer amazon or ebay if i was in USA. I will look for the one that you suggested, thank you my man. :)

Last edited:
Not sure how shipping from the USA to Turkey compares to shipping from England or Europe, but these two well respected companies ship worldwide :-
Hannant's, Lowestoft, England (minimum order around £8, and I don't think they ship paints outside of the UK).
Aviation Megastore, Schipol, Netherlands.

You can also buy direct from Eduard who ship from the Czech Republic. You'll pay new kit prices but they are very nice kits. No paints though unfortunately.

Not sure about postage prices in other parts of the world - I'm in Australia. Also not sure how reliable postage to Turkey is ..... Having said that, from my experience -
Having bought a lot of kits from all over the world, I have found the best sources to be Model Hobbies in the UK (10% cheaper than Hannants) and PlazaJapan in .... Japan. Both offer very good prices and very reasonable postage, take paypal and are reliable. Plaza's range is somewhat limited, but if you want Hasegawa, Fujimi or Tamiya that's the place.
Try to buy kits from their origins - that is, don't buy a Japanese-made kit from China, or a Chinese-made kit from Japan.