New to Modeling

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

ninjaplation

Airman
Nov 18, 2013
Hello, so I'm a bit new to modeling so I bought a Airfix bf109 starter kit 1:72 off amazon. I have a friend who is into modeling and help me get some items that I needed such as brushes and other paints that I needed. I am trying to model my 109 after the ones that you see with the yellow rudder and yellow cowl, with the blue gray ,green and gray on the rest. Here is our progress so far, I forgot to buy masking tape so any other ideas with taping I do have packing tape.

10i5qap.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
As far as the package tape is concerned... it depends on how "strong" is the tape adhesive. I would suggest to paint a piece of the kit sprue then stick a piece of the tape there and try to unstick it. If the paint peels off the tape can't be used. As a substitute of Tamiya masking tape you can use the one that is for painters and offered by most of shops with items for house renovation.

The camo scheme for the Bf 109E sounds a little bit strange. The blue grey on undersides ..OK it can be . But the green and grey on the tops rather no. However these are names used in the Airfix instruction for the kit, I guess. The grey colour should be RLM02 Grau ( Grau = Grey ). It wasn't the grey paint in fact. It was green-grey of brown tinge A sample here....

55831d1299778516t-rlm-colors-my-dora-rlm02-grau.jpg

I see. The camo scheme was made of RLM71 - Dunkelgrun ( Dark Green ) / RLM02 Grau ( Grey ) on tops and the RLM65 Hellblau ( Blue Grey ) on undersides.

Congrats on getting started! And a fine choice of a first effort, I love Willy's 109.
Wurger is absolutely correct, try some painters "blue" tape. Also, peruse this forum to get some ideas as to how such things are done. You will find that we share our tricks quite freely, and there is much knowledge to be had.
Looking forward to your finish!