Opening the pages and pictures on this forum too slow

Discussion in 'Errors / Problems' started by seesul, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. seesul

    seesul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Zlin, Czech Republic
    Home Page:
    Don´t know why but since yesterday the opening the pages and pictures is too slow for me. It takes a lot of time till each page is opened with all the pics.
    It can be a problem of my weak RAM but I got the same prob with another PC, even with Firefox and Google Chrome.
    Another web sites works fine...
    Anyone else has the same prob or is it just me?
    THX!
     
  2. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,206
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    Hi Roman,

    The site has been working fine for me (page and image loading), I wonder if it's a regional problem?
     
  3. Njaco

    Njaco The Pop-Tart Whisperer
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    23,053
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Animal Control Officer
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    I had that also. Thought it was my PC. It seems fine today.
     
  4. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,716
    Likes Received:
    1,523
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    No problem for me. It is possible your local net server might have gotten slower for some reason.
     
  5. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,705
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I've had a similar problem occassionally, over the last two or three weeks. It also happened on another web-site this morning, and I think Wojtek might be right. All seems fine at the moment.
     
  6. seesul

    seesul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Zlin, Czech Republic
    Home Page:
    #6 seesul, Feb 14, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
    Still slow as a snail. 10 hours ago the site wasn´t accessible at all...
     
  7. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Big problems goin on Roman, tryin to get it sorted out...
     
  8. seesul

    seesul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Zlin, Czech Republic
    Home Page:
    Thx Dan.
    Maybe the server capacity is close to the limit?
     
  9. 109ROAMING

    109ROAMING Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    5,999
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Same here Roman , Pages loading slow . Alot of today and all of yesterday forum unaccessible

    Cheers Dan + guys for the work you do
     
  10. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    ....and here as well chaps! :lol:
     
  11. Shinpachi

    Shinpachi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6,820
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    CGI Creator
    Location:
    Osaka
    Yes, it's slow here too. My RAM 3GB.
    I have checked my PC's download speed at a test site. 70 mega bits/second.
    Very enough but I experience slow downloads at Youtube too very often. Maybe too many accesses to the server.

    Have checked how many memebers and guests were accessing here.
    Almost 150 at a time yesterday.
    Members were only 20 or so. The rest were all guests.
     
  12. DerAdlerIstGelandet

    DerAdlerIstGelandet Der Crew Chief
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41,768
    Likes Received:
    684
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A&P - Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    USA/Germany
    The site is running very slow for me as well. We are trying to get it sorted out guys.

    All you need is a lil patience...;)
     
  13. B-17engineer

    B-17engineer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14,953
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    model builder
    Location:
    Revis Island.
    Huh... works fine for me and Vic...pages loading at normal speed and pics.
     
  14. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,716
    Likes Received:
    1,523
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    Spit5 asked me if the site was running slow. So it means that it happened almost to all of you.
     
  15. DerAdlerIstGelandet

    DerAdlerIstGelandet Der Crew Chief
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41,768
    Likes Received:
    684
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A&P - Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    USA/Germany
    It actually seems to be running fine for me now. Weird...
     
  16. Thorlifter

    Thorlifter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7,910
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    IT Nerd
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx Jubail, Saudi Arabia
    Yep, seems to be running fine now.
     
  17. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,770
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Yep, seems fine now. Must of been a glitch with server accessibility.
     
  18. seesul

    seesul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Zlin, Czech Republic
    Home Page:
    It works fine for me now...but...better shhhhhhh...
    Don´t know where the problem was but thank you guys!
     
  19. horseUSA

    horseUSA Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Home Page:
    Just got back to my computer today.

    I had received this email last night from the network engineer in datacenter
    It looks like the problems with site access being slow was due to failure in network path. I just received and update a few minutes ago, which said the problem is resolved. I will post any other updates regarding this. Sorry about the problem, but at least it wasn't due to server being overloaded.
    :


    This is the latest update from the datacenter network admin. All of you should be able to, very slowly, access all servers now. It wont be fast but at least you will have access. The datacenter is currently working with a couple of providers to get the full capacity back.

    Here is what the datacenter network admin says:

    We're running with very reduced capacity which is why you're seeing all the packet loss. Everything should be accessible, but you can expect slow connectivity while we're working on adding extra capacity that does not utilize the fiber path in question to NYC. The fact it's a Sunday does not help either however we do have couple of alternatives that should yield results before the fiber path is restored.

    We've had a chat with Above.net and we're unable to get a straight answer from them yet regarding ETA but it does look like a major issue for them since they're not able to get to the manhole where the break is. This tells me that conditions must not be safe and for safety reason they cannot get inside and restore the service. Above.net also mentioned that they are working on alternatives paths right now and will proceed with the the solution that takes least amount of time.

    This is the first time in 10 years that we've had such a major issue that's out of our control and I can assure everyone that this is being treated with absolutely highest priority and that we're working around the clock to restore normal quality of service.
     
  20. Crimea_River

    Crimea_River Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    25,185
    Likes Received:
    963
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Calgary
    Guys, great job on this. Site is working really well now, maybe even faster than it used to for me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page