Re-use of the space shuttles (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

ivanotter

Airman 1st Class
Jan 2, 2011
Johannesburg, South Africa
All, Maybe this is not the best forum. Please tel me then.

If we should get into real space travel, i believe that a low-orbit space station, like the ISS, is a great idea.

Now to get anywhere else, some sort of space vehicle is required.

It should be able to carry significant cargo, etc.

Can the space shutles not be re-used for that, as a ferry to another space station, say, around Mars?

I am not good at this part, so please help me out.

I am under the impression that the space shutttle are canned as too old for getting into space and especially re-entry. well, we could keep them in space instead.

Am I off on a tangent here? I also posted this on alternatehistory although not a history question.

Ivan

Considering the age of the shuttle fleet, I don't think it would be wise to continue using them. While keeping them in space would avoid re-entry stresses, there are still a great deal of pressures and other things to deal with in the vacuum of space. The shuttle technology is 1970s era technology. With companies like Scaled Composites and others, there are probably alternatives that could be made cheaper and with much newer technology and material.

Consider that most of the structure of the shuttle is designed for aerodynamic forces as well as the high gee loads during launch. Thats a lot of wasted "mass" when it is in space not subject to those forces.

But I do see the point in chucking the space shuttles.

I presume there are countles studies in terms of how an inter-planetary vehicle should look and operate. I can see the cost of operating the shuttle in space could be higher than just building a new design. HOWEVER, with the way these projects are going, Mike is right. Will there ever be money for those things again?