Skidding, Compressiblity, and Mushing

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

GatorDude

Recruit
Feb 13, 2010
I've been reading a couple of books on the P-40 (Donald Lopez's Into the Teeth of the Tiger and periscopefilm's reprint of the P-40 Warhawk Pilots Flight Operating Manual) and I've run into some new terms: Skidding, Compressibility and Mushing.

Apparently aircraft can skid in a turn, encounter compressibility and mush at high altitude. Can anyone explain what these terms mean? Thanks!

I can assume - as I'm no expert - that skidding would refer to when a plane goes sideways on a level which I would assime decreases the airflow significantly (compresability) so that it negatively affects the flying characteristics of the plane and the bleed off of speed is drastic (mushing). I guess.

you might google the terms and get a better explanation but i will offer my thoughts.

Skidding / slipping : The plane is put into a skid with the rudder and orients the nose of the plane away from the direction of travel. Its used as a way to bleed off speed but it also can change the flight path on the horizontal plane with out having to bank the wings. Pilots also skid to place their shots while shooting.

compressibility: In a nutshell. as the speed of the plane increases the air moving over certain parts of the plane begins to travel in the supersonic realm. Compressibility is what occurs when air is compressed from the shock wave that forms over these parts of the aircraft. Compressibility can also effect control responses depending on the severity of the shock wave and the disruption of the air flow. Its more trouble for an aircraft at high speeds particularly at higher altitudes.