This site does not work on my PC properly!

Discussion in 'Corrections / Suggestions' started by Flightpath, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. Flightpath

    Flightpath Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Instrument tech.
    Location:
    Tranby, Norway
    Hi,

    I only frequent a few sites to do with my interests, all of them work at the correct speed except THIS great site. It is so painfully slow on my PC, that I just don't have the time to look at things that interest me or add posts about my collection...... can someone explain why or help me with this problem? (It would be my favorite site if it worked properly).

    cheers,

    -John
     
  2. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Not sure what ur problem is... Are u using a dialup connection, DSL or cable??
     
  3. DerAdlerIstGelandet

    DerAdlerIstGelandet Der Crew Chief
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41,767
    Likes Received:
    684
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A&P - Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    USA/Germany
    It has to be something on your end of the connection.

    I use DSL and the pages load extremely fast but I also have a high processor speed, good cache size and great memory. I click on a page in this website and the page comes up immediatly with no long download times or anything like that, so I assure you that our Forum is working properly.

    It could be any number of problems including:

    1. System Configuration
    2. Internet Connection
    3. Internet Speed
    4. Virus or Spamware
     
  4. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,976
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    Don't forget the browser. It can be a major player in performance. I'm using Mozilla firefox, and works just fine. Further more you should cleanup your cookies.
     
  5. DerAdlerIstGelandet

    DerAdlerIstGelandet Der Crew Chief
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41,767
    Likes Received:
    684
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A&P - Aircraft Technician
    Location:
    USA/Germany
    Yeap forgot about that.

    I use Internet Explorer 7 and I have no problem with it either. Also my cookies are automatically deleted everyday and I do not allow most 3rd party cookies.
     
  6. seesul

    seesul Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,519
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Zlin, Czech Republic
    Home Page:
    I also had problems with IE where i had to wait 5 minutes for each pic. since mozilla installation no problem..
     
  7. pbfoot

    pbfoot Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    niagara falls
    No probs with ie
     
  8. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,976
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    I also use IE7 once and a while. The main thing is that you should take care of the clutter in your system. Delete cookies when possible. IE7 and Mozilla both have a simple way of doing that.Only diadvantage is that you'll have to type your name and password again when logging on. Also, try to delete your browsing history.
     
Loading...

Share This Page