Trackends Attempts 2nd ever build a Spite IX

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

trackend

Chief Master Sergeant
Dec 20, 2003
Ipswich, Suffolk
Goodmorning,Goodafternoon,Goodevening or Goodnight (please select the the approprieate greeting to match your time zone):)

This is my second ever model build the first being a Tamiya 1/35th Bren carrier and with much swearing and mountains of help form you fellas I ended up with a reasonable result.
Again I will be asking lots of daft questions about kit building (some I have already emailed to our resident experts) Instead of bunging your own threads up I think it is best I have my own one.
I am a total novice at this so I will be making loads of errors but I hope it will help guys who are in the same boat as me not to give up hope but perciever.

Before I even started this build I had a problem as my eyesight is not very good, so not being backward in coming forward I spoke with Airframe (Terry) as he is doing some very fine work. I now know he is around my age and also lacks 20/20 vision but he uses a helping hands bit of kit that has a mag glass attached I had a look on google and I believe I now know what he uses.

As it's Sunday and no chance of getting one of these for a while I went into my garage and came up with this
(see below) I found a piece of 2X2 , and a pair of tweezers. I then drilled 2 holes screwed one end to the wood and epoxed a small bolts head to one blade of the tweezers and left the bolt loose through the other hole.
I then rummaged around and found a soft plastic end from a bathroom light pull cord (these have a hole for the cord to go through) by letting it cut its own thread onto the bolt I can use it to tighten the blades together
The wood is heavy enough that it does'nt move about but I can stand it up or lay it down as required.