What if Germany had access to large Nickel reserves in WWII?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Grant Barr

Senior Airman
I have, for some time, wondered what the outcome of WWII would have been if Germany had access to an adequate supply of nickel. Whilst I am no historical expert, I have come across a lot of references that a shortage of many key raw materials, but most notably nickel, placed a significant limitation on the ability of Germany to produce high quality metals for use in all their military equipment.

This thought has just recently been reinforced having read about the issues with engine materials in the book The Secret Horsepower Race (Callum Douglas). This is just one example, I know aero-engines were not the only area suffering huge issues as a result of limited nickel reserves. It's certainly interesting to extrapolate on what it could have looked like - just fighter performance alone could have been very different!

What little I know of metallurgy suggests that nickel can have a significant impact on the properties of any base metal it is alloyed with. A tweak here and there seems to produce some real changes - valves in high performance engines comes immediately to mind, but I do remember reading somewhere that nickel does assist in armour impact resistance.

Nickel and chromium for their jet engines would have made a considerable difference.

And yes, nickel for amour, gun barrels and more.

The U.S. was in short supply of nickel at one point, which caused the U.S. mint to strike nickels (five cent coins) out of silver during the war.