Why am i struggling to Trim my aircraft ?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

jaxx

Recruit
Mar 24, 2009
Hi all

Im relatively new to IL-2 1946, but have picked up on the basics so far.
One problem I have is trimming - I have 2 trim wheels on my joystick for Aileron and Elevator (I assume rudder is not needed normally), but I struggle to get the aircraft to fly straight. Ive tried different sensitivity settings on the joystick, but no luck.

I dont like using the autopilot to trim, but this is the only way I can navigate in a straight line between 2 points. If I fly manually, I have to continually correct by fairly large amounts.

Are the any suggestions on trimming ? Am I missing something basic ? Is it perhaps my equipment ?
Or perhaps using the Autopilot is the norm ?

(Im flying Spitfire and Corsair missions)

To be honest i think you do need the rudder to adjust a littlebit from left to right (especial at takeoff), but the other thing is the wind i think. My plane (what ever i use) always keeps tilting to one side when flying and i needs corecting always from left to right and up and down. I just put the "elevator trim negative/positive on my joystick so i can adjust that as it keeps climbing if i dont. Same goes for the flaps you can adjust these in the air. But if you dont have enough buttons you might wanna use the keyboard for that.

*dont know if i'm 100% right about the wind derection, but i'm 100% positive about the flaps and elevator adjustment!

Hi and welcome jaxx.

Some tips on trim: (ok, what I do :) )

Firstly, forget about Aileron Trim for now. It is mostly on American planes, most axis or UK planes doesn't have it.

Rather have Rudder Trim in place of Aileron Trim, as this is the one you use the most to counter torque, especially on take off.