Aerodynamic Drag Properties of the A6M

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

DarrenW

Staff Sergeant
Dec 24, 2017
Warren, MI USA
Are there any trustworthy drag calculations out there for the Zero? I'm interested in all models.

DarrenW,

I am not sure exactly what these numbers mean, as I am not an aeronautical engineer, but have been collecting them. The spreadsheet has drag in pounds for a few aircraft (including the A6M3) at a speed of 100 ft/sec.

Any aero engineer, please educate me on what these numbers measure.

Eagledad

Attachments

• Drag in pounds 100 feet per second.xls
    13.5 KB · Views: 313
  • Spitfire Aerodynamics.pdf
    882.9 KB · Views: 394
Hello Eagledad,

I haven't looked at your spreadsheet yet, but if the number is good then it is enough to calculate a Coefficient of Drag which is what I believe DarrenW is looking for. It would only depend on which model of A6M3 because the Wing Area of the Model 22 was a bit more than that for the Model 32.

Edit: I opened your spreadsheet and saw that the source was the RAAF evaluation of the "Hap" at Eagle Farm.
This would make the critter a A6M3 Model 32 and inside the report it mentions that the Wing Area is 232 feet^2.
Haven't finished reading the report. I need to go cook some Dinner now.

If anyone is truly interested in the aerodynamic qualities of the A6M, I believe Koga's A6M2 was put through a wind tunnel test and perhaps something is listed in "The Eagles of Mitsubishi" book or in the book by Robert Mikesh on A6M.

Thanks.
- Ivan.

Last edited:
DarrenW,

I am not sure exactly what these numbers mean, as I am not an aeronautical engineer, but have been collecting them. The spreadsheet has drag in pounds for a few aircraft (including the A6M3) at a speed of 100 ft/sec.

Any aero engineer, please educate me on what these numbers measure.

Eagledad