Prince of Wales private aircraft 1933-dragon

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Ginny

Recruit
Dec 18, 2006
Hi, I am new to this, and am seeking a pic of the interior mostly,or exterior of a plane once owned by the Prince of Wales back in 1933. This so far is the only information I have recieved; We have at Hendon an exhibition of Royal Flight aircraft models, of which one of G-ACGG forms a part. I am sure there may be photographs of the interior in some book or other, I think the publishers Air Britain have produced a book on the Dragon series. As to G-ACGG itself, the aircraft (according to sources from the internet) was first registered in 1933 as a ViP craft for the Prince of Wales, but was sold to Australia in 1937 and registered VH-AAC. In 1941 it was impressed by the Royal Australian Air Force for War service, being released back to the civil register in 1944. It was purchased for use in Papua New Guinea, where it crashed on 29th January 1951. Its remains were purchased by Territory Airlines in 1952 for rebuild but never was, and instead parts were incorporated into sister craft VH-AIA. So, a rather ignominious end for a once Royal bird!
With much thanks for any info or pics at all. Ginny

Hello Ginny -

I have both Hamlin's and Dodd's volumes on the De Havilland Dragon and Dragon Rapide series. Both books were purchased through Luchtvaart Hobby Shop's website. Luchtvaart provides excellent service and fast delivery.

AviationMegastore.com

'The Story of the DeHavilland Dragon Types' by Colin N. Dodds.
'The DeHavilland Dragon / Rapide Family' by John F Hamlin.

I've posted two photos and a color profile of A-ACGG below. There are only 2 interior photos of the DH 84 Dragon in either book (both in Dodds). Likely these will provide only a little help since A-ACGG had a De Luxe interior.

Paraphrased text follows and then the photos: