Airbrushes and compressors

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

A4K

Colonel
Dec 17, 2007
The back of beyond
G'day all!

I'm looking to finally get an airbrush and compressor, and would appreciate you guys' advice as to what I should look for or what types I should consider.

Main uses will initially be just for modelmaking (1/72 mostly), but as I'm an artist, I might try painting with the airbrush too eventually.

Physical considerations are space, and noise, as I live on the 7th floor of a 10 storey block of flats with neighbours on all sides, and no soundproof walls!

I'd appreciate any advice ya's could offer! :)

Cheers, Evan

In Poland there are available some quite cheap compressors and airbrbrushes.

These are very suitable for our modellng.The airbrush Profi AB-1004 with the 0.2 mm/0.3 mm nozzles and very similar to those ones PROFI AB-1007 with the same nozzles. their cost is about 125-130 zł.
The piston compressor MINI MA-1000 gives up to 3.3 bar airpressure,17l of air per minute,very silent with moisture trap and regulation of airpressure.Cost - 300-320 zł.

Attachments

• Profi AB-1004 .jpg
    Profi AB-1004 .jpg
    66.6 KB · Views: 97
  • PROFI AB-1007.jpg
    PROFI AB-1007.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 86
  • MINI MA-1000.jpg
    MINI MA-1000.jpg
    29.8 KB · Views: 85
Hi Evan,

The 3.3 bar airpressure is enough mostly for painting.Especially for acrylic paints.My friend who uses the MINI MA-1000 + PROFI AB-1007 with 0.2mm nozzle set, hasn't had any problem with airbrushing of both kind of coloures so far.I mean the oil enamels and acrylic ones ( Humbrol,Pactra).Simply these Polish airbrushes are suitable for the compressor.