Archery

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Trebor

Master Sergeant
Feb 15, 2008
KCLS
hey guys, I've been a fan of Archery for a while ever since I started doing it a little bit in middle school (it was part of Physical Education) but I haven't drawn a bow since then. since I started playing my Wii sports resort (which includes archery) it re-sparked my interest. and I'm wanting to do target shooting. but I don't know what kind of adult beginner bow I should get. I can't do Cabela's cos they practically want your arm. I looked around and learned a couple of different types. I'm looking at traditional bows

So u dont want to go with a compound then, want to stay in the recurve/long bow area Rob???

Im in the process of teaching my 2 young sons how to shoot at the moment on a youth compound bow...

Attachments

• Max Archery 04.jpg
    Max Archery 04.jpg
    159.9 KB · Views: 161
  • Max Archery 06.jpg
    Max Archery 06.jpg
    201.1 KB · Views: 162
Oh yeah another Traditional archer on the forum!!! I sold my compound several years ago after taking up Traditional Archery. Can be frustrating at times, but I just like to see an arrow fly downrange and hit the mark. I currently shoot a Longbow since it seems I shoot them better, some guys shoot Recurves better, but I think it's all in what you are comfortable with.
Suggestions I would make it to visit a local archery shop that carries some Traditional gear and have then check your draw lenngth. Second don't overbow yourself, meaning don't get a bow that is too heavy of a draw weight. From bow builders I've spoken with 45-50 is what most people buy these days, gone ar the days of he-men shooting 70-80 pound Longbows.