Dimensions of cargo door on C-47

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

SamT089

Recruit
Jul 14, 2018
I am a newbie writing about air delivery of supplies to the 101st Airborne at Bastogne on December 23, 1944 and need the dimensions of the cargo doors on the C-47. I read that each plane could only deliver a 'small' amount of supplies because of the 'small size' of the cargo doors and because the planes had very little time to drop supplies before they overflew the one-mile-square drop zone. But if you could get a jeep through those cargo doors they couldn't have been so small. Can anyone provide me with the measurements for those cargo doors and a source? I have already checked R. Francillon's McDonnell Douglas Aircraft Since 1920 and also Boeing: Historical Snapshot: C-47 Skytrain military transport. Many thanks.

A WW2 Jeep was only 62 inches wide, they drove the Jeep up a ramp, then with several men grabbing the handhold bars placed several places on a Jeep body, scooted the Jeep around until it was longways with the C-47s cargo compartment. So the complete door opening only had to be a little bigger than 62 inches.

Then if you look at pictures of a C-47 you'll notice the door is a 2 piece door, about 1/3 forward, 2/3 back door. The front door can be opened in flight, or left off entirely . The rear part has the hinges at the rear, so you can imagine what would happen if you opened the rear door in flight.

You see plenty of pictures with the small front door left off.
There may be some pictures with the rear bigger door left off too, but I'd think a aircraft with a about 6x6 foot square hole in one side of the rear fuselage might handle a little bad.

Thanks, esp. for the info re Jeep size.
But I'm still looking for measurements of those cargo doors and a source.

Anyone else want to weigh in?