Greek Hurricane Mk.Ib in Egypt - 1/48

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Tazman

Airman
Dec 5, 2011
Hello everybody!
I am a rookie here.
I would like you to tell me if the Italeri's new 1/48 Hurricane Mk.I is appropriate for a Greek Hurricane Mk.Ib.
I have found decals for an aircraft with Greek markings in Egypt but I don't know which kit to buy.
Is Italeri's ok for what I want?

Thank you in advance.
You have a nice forum. :wave:

Ok.... Do you mean the one coded with white FGoE don't you?

ML48148_5.jpg

greece_aircraft_hurricane_2.jpg

Last edited:
It's a Hawker Hurricane Mk.IIB trop of 335 Squadron Royal Hellenic Air Force in 1942. The Hurricane was equipped with desert air filter Vokes.

profhurri.jpg

It's a Hurricane MkIIB, fitted with twelve .303 machine guns, and a Merlin XX engine. Serial number BD930 was one of a batch of 1,500 built in that production block.
There was no MkIB Hurricane.
The Italeri kit is a MkIA. By altering the wing gun access hatches, and adding the 2 outer mg in each wing, it could pass as a MkIIB, but would need the longer spinner and the Rotol propellor. Also, the MkII was longer in the nose than the MkI.
The only MkII kit available at present is the Hobbycraft series of kits, available in various packagings, but as far as i know, all the same basic kit.

Thanks a lot guys!
I must find a Mk.II then.
One more question: What is the difference between a Mk.IIb and a Mk.IIc?

Their armament and a cockpit armour. Mk.IIC was armed with 4x20mm Oerlikon cannons.

Last edited:
You have aready asked the question in the thread ...

http://www.ww2aircraft.net/forum/model-kit-reviews/italeri-1-48-hurricane-mk-i-30661.html#post845867

Please go there and read my posts. Then please we can talk here. Also I would like to see the decal sheet. Is that possible you would post its image?