Instrument Panel ID.....T-38A Talon?? NASA??

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

salutewwii

Airman
Jan 1, 2016
Decatur, AL
Need help with this panel. I'm almost positive it's a T-38A, NASA version... but can not find one single pic or manual that shows this instrument configuration or the curved (concave left and right top) panel. I'm no expert of the modern jet age......can someone help?

My-T-38A.jpg

It might have been used for an earlier planes or just other types because the panels for the T-38A have a little bit different shape.

A couple of shots you may find here...

NASA T-38 Fleet

Thanks Wurger....nice photos. I was thinking the same thing....maybe an earlier version....but have seen very early pilot manuals and it shows a panel just like you see in the pics you sent.
Every pic I've seen the tops are straight angles and they have a slightly different cut out config...........I'm stumped....

It was a T-38
Thanks Wurger....nice photos. I was thinking the same thing....maybe an earlier version....but have seen very early pilot manuals and it shows a panel just like you see in the pics you sent.
Every pic I've seen the tops are straight angles and they have a slightly different cut out config...........I'm stumped....
Just a couple of idle questions, were the front and rear panels identical? And if this aircraft was supposed to be converted to a QT-38, could the panel have been modified?

Yes, the front and rear panels in the T-38A's are identical. At least the panel shape, there are slight differences in instruments. No, this panel I have could not have been modified from what you normally see in T-38A's. It was purposely manufactured this way....

1959 USAF Serial Numbers

59-1594/1601 Northrop T-38A-15-NO Talon
SN N.5107/5114
1594/1598 transferred to US Navy as DT-38A serials 591594/591598
1596 later converted to QT-38A which included ECM function. SOC due to damage Dec 20, 1980.