Options to save a trapped ball turret gunner in a bomber wheels up landing

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Jenisch

Staff Sergeant
Oct 31, 2011
Hello,

I found out a terrible story of a B-17 that couldn't deploy it's landing gear, and at the same time the ball turret gunner was by some reason trapped inside the turret. Unfornately he had an unpleseant death, as the aircraft landed in such way. I don't know what was the state of the aircraft, but since the hydraulics were out it could have been damaged.

If I was a pilot, to try save the men I was thinking of try put the B-17 down upside down, but don't know if would be possible for the B-17 to fly upside down. I think it would be needed to put it in a high speed dive, and the control forces generated would render the attempt useless. Not to mention the risk would be very high. The other crew members would not be much a problem for this, if possible, as they would be able to bail out.

Certainly the crew tried the most they could to save him, but do you people think that assuming an all functional plane it would be possible to do something?

Last edited:
I don't see how landing upside down would save the ball turret gunner.
Have you ever noticed the radical nose-up attitude ( nose down when you're in the aircraft) a aircraft has to take to fly upside down ? Plus the stall speed would be higher upside down. Now imagine trying to land like that. That's even IF a B-17 could fly upside down.
Rolling the aircraft into a flaming ball on the runway isn't going to help the ball gunner.

The turret was stuck so the gunner couldn't get out, and ball turrets were too tight for most gunners to wear a parachute. So they couldn't just drop the turret. The landing gear was stuck also, and being after a mission the aircraft probably low on fuel. So they probably didn't have a lot of time to come up with any bright ideas.

Last edited: