Thermobaric weapons in WW2?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

wiking85

Staff Sergeant
Jul 30, 2012
Chicagoland Area
https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mario_Zippermayr

Apparently the Germans were working on such weapons since 1943 and were somewhat close to getting small versions of the weapon operational in 1945:
Massenvernichtungswaffe: Großvaters Vakuumbombe - Physik Chemie - FAZ

Was this a reality or just a figment of someone's imagination like Nazi UFOs? Technologically I don't see what was impossible about having a thermobaric weapon in service by 1945, but then again I'm not an expert, I just hope someone here can answer this question.

In a way coal dust explosions or even grain elevator explosions are in the same category, The two practical problems into "weaponizing" this phenomenon is getting the explosive agent/s to disperse in a consistent and reliable manner and then igniting the "cloud".

In a way coal dust explosions or even grain elevator explosions are in the same category, The two practical problems into "weaponizing" this phenomenon is getting the explosive agent/s to disperse in a consistent and reliable manner and then igniting the "cloud".
Was that an issue that WW2-era tech couldn't solve? It seems the Germans were working with coal dust, liquid oxygen, and some sort of waxy agent to get the desired aerosol effect.

Heck, the Germans were working with chlorine trifluoride, which is hypergolic with just about everything, including water. I have no doubt that, given time, their industry would have been able to get something working, just about in time for the Allies to capture the development team and their documentation.

I don't see any technical reason why such weapons couldn't have been developed in time. The Germans were testing them in 1943/4 but never got them into production.