TSR-2 - "Perfect example for unmasterable technology and mismanagement?"

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

HoHun

Tech Sergeant
Oct 15, 2006
Hi everyone,

I'm have just finished reading the latest issue of the German "Klassiker der Luftfahrt" (4/2007), and I have stumbled upon the claim that the TSR-2 "is today regarded as the perfect example for unmasterable technology and mismanagement".

I'm not an expert on that plane, but I noticed a distinct contrast between everything I had read on the type so far and the conclusion the Klassiker author presented as modern-day consensus.

Roland Beamont as the test pilot on the TSR-2 might be a bit biased towards the type, but it's my impression that his description of the TSR-2 - which he reinforces with selected quotes from official reports - is technically detailed and records both the initial problems of the type and the way they were fixed. (At least, a quick web search did not turn up anything that contradicts Beamont.)

So here my questions for the experts: What was the real cause for the TSR-2's demise? Is the Klassiker statement regarding the TSR-2 correct, or at least justifiable (never mind the "consensus" claim)? Did Beamont paint an overly optimistic picture of the TSR-2?

Thanks for your help! :)

Henning (HoHun)

There is still a lot of secrecy about the demise of the TSR2.
I've just read a book about it and some of the contributors didnt want to be named !
There is still some reluctance in official circles to even admit the project existed.
There were cost over runs (there always are) but the project had enemies in high places right from the start.Lord Mountbatten,at the time chief of the defence staff (and a navy man) wanted the navy in the strategic role with Polaris , and wanted to keep the Buccaneer ( cost 5 for every 1 TSR2 ) He even persuaded the Australians to cancel (They wanted it but went on to buy the F111 )