ww2 spitfire wheel identification

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Stephen.Dixon

Airman
Mar 24, 2013
Dear users

I've recently joined this site with the express purpose of uploading a few images for you to look at.

I bought a wheel from a guy at Ripon carboot in the United Kingdom. He told me it was the rear wheel for either a spitfire or a hurricane. i also bought other things from him.

I'm hoping that someone can assist me with its identification.

Regards
Steve

IMG_1293.JPG
IMG_1294.JPG
IMG_1295.JPG

I'm not an expert but I'm quite sure someone will be along shortly with some information, it looks right to me.

Last edited:
That doesn't look like a Spitfire tailwheel to me.

These are:

IMG_0285_zps4dd7853c.gif

IMG_0287_zpsa701e8d5.gif

There should be a Dunlop number stamped into the casting,AH 2184/number,for a Spitfire. That looks like a genuine Palmer Aero tyre,maybe someone knows something about the Hurricane tailwheel. I know it has three bolts arranged like that but the rest doesn't seem familiar. I'll happily be wrong though!

Cheers

Steve

Last edited:
Looks a bit like a Hurricane tail wheel, but it needs someone like Tony (Rocketeer) to confirm the stampings etc.
BTW, your pics are taking a long time to load, at 1.87MB. You need to re-size to no more than than 800 x 600 px before uploading direct to the forum.

No problem Steve - thought i'd just let you know for future reference. I take you you're based in North Yorkshire? Ripon's a nice place, used to get there quite a lot. Got relatives in Wetherby.

Yeah, I'm just outside York.

I'm having a look through the site, its pretty good. I'm going to tell some of the other guys and get them to have a look.

Some good articles and good users commenting.