1/32 Trumpeter Swordfish Mk I dilemma

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Papa Tango Whiskey

Airman 1st Class
Jul 9, 2016
Tulsa
Hello gents, I am a newbie here and was wondering if any one would want to see if they could help me find a solution to a challenging problem.. I have the trumpeter 1.32 Fairey Swordfish kit and I would like to display it with the wings deployed. The kit is really meant to have the wings stowed but as with all trumpeter kits that have planes with folding wings getting them to build up with them deployed is a problem. There is one piece that is inserted in the center / inner plane top wing assembly that resembles a spar but it really does not provide enough support or a real good contact surface to be able to install the outer wing panel securely. Essentially it winds up being just a butt joint and being rather fiddly. Anyway, if any of you have a solution to offer I an tuned in..

Cheers

Paul

Some wood perhaps? Maybe use some tongue depressors.
Those may be a bit too heavy but I have thought about using some plastic card as tabs. I read in the links that FUBAR sent me that there may be more to it than just glue here and there. I am at the stage in my model building where I really have to get my head around a build before I jump into it otherwise it will wind up on the shelf of doom.

A question that should have been asked firstly . How the two surfaces ( edges between the two wing parts ) look like? Any pic would be helpful.

A question that should have been asked firstly . How the two surfaces ( edges between the two wing parts ) look like? Any pic would be helpful.