2Lt John Edmund Russell RCAF RAF USAAF b. 1.30.1920 NY USA d. 11.10.1943 Brome Suffolk England

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

arborvitae

Recruit
Sep 22, 2022
www.findagrave.com
Edited October 5, 2022:

Sorry this is so long but I hope somebody will reply with some interest. When I have time I will try to be more precise. New information in the last few days has made me edit some of this below.
——

Hello, I'm new to this forum. I've been researching on and off John Edmund Russell since 2015. I found this forum by finding a discussion about him on a dormant World War II forum that Tony Kambic contributed to and was able to search his name and locate this forum.

I put together his memorial bio on Find A Grave from various sources, newspaper articles and photos. He was a good friend of my father who wants to honor him this November for the anniversary of his death which coincides with Veterans Day almost. I'll post the link to that old thread and his bio from Find A Grave of mine. Edits and and new info would be helpful. I think I deciphered the training school acronyms and WO2 rank correctly last night. Edited this post. I'll ask specific questions below. Thanks!

John E. Russell U.S.A.A.F. [Archive] - Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum
John E. Russell U.S.A.A.F. [Archive] - Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum

What is the source for the original post in this old forum thread above? Is it from a book or found online? I would really appreciate having the source before adding any of that information to his Find A Grave bio.

Please let me know if you see any errors or have any information to clarify what I have in his bio so far particularly at the top to see if anything is missing from his military service and records.
Squadron 57 is when he got the DFC in September 1943. His gravestone has this: 813 BOMB SQ 482 BOMB.