Autonomous drones may have attacked humans for the first time ever (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Turkey announced last week that by 2024 they will have a fully autonomous F-16. I guess they must have tested this concept recently in Libya and Armenia.

I wonder which neighbouring country comes next and when......hmmmm...

Seems to me that every time humanity makes an incremental war technology leap, it loses a piece of its soul. Or maybe it happens the other way around.

I'm an avid amateur photographer, started getting interested in drone photography, the current market (Mavic 3 is a beast for its prosumer optics...beautiful stuff... ), and the next morning saw drone-delivered bombs dropping on Russian boys in foxholes in the newsfeed, with all the horror you might expect in that situation.

But what was more terrifying to me was the cheers and glee expressed, as if that 18-year old caused the war that objectively started when he was 10 years old at the very least.

I started this year going down a deep research rabbit-hole on my Grandfather, who served as an airborne recon photographer from New Guinea all the way to Japan, and what he saw of course haunted the rest of his days. And now here we are, and what has changed? The quality of the optics, the speed, the efficiency. It's the same kind of war really. Some pilots would bomb and strafe civilians for the hell of it, and with gusto, while others would refrain. (source: Wreaking Havoc: A Year in an A-20) It really comes down to the individual.

The number of people welcoming this kind of drone warfare with enthusiasm and mirth disgust me, no sense of karma, no sense of compassion for the "enemy", and what hubris will this darkness bring upon our own soil?

Drone warfare has been going a long time, we see the big ones around here frequently, training I suppose.